That’s my dream.  I wake up and my big time book agent tells me that the world’s biggest book fan and biggest celebrity loves my novel.  On that day, I wake up, I have a cup of coffee and I check my phone, which has a hundred text messages and voicemails from my agent.  I had the phone on vibrate, so I didn’t hear any of the calls or messages that came in early that morning.  From the amount of “call me, it’s urgent,” messages, I know something big,  something important has happened with my book.  “O, Oprah loves it,” my agent says.  I drop the cell phone and I scream at the top of my lungs.  I jump up and down and I FALL ON MY KNEES (an Oprah book)  and thank the Lord above. Tears are streaming down my face as I call my mother and tell her.  She tells my father.  She tells me to call my sisters and brother’s, while my dad will inform the entire city.

According to Oprah’s website, http://www.oprah.com SIXTY books have been anointed, I mean, chosen by O.  I have GREAT EXPECTIONS (one of Oprah’s picks by the way)  believing, hoping, and praying that one day I’ll SAY I’M ONE OF THEM (another Oprah pick) and EIGHTH WONDER is number 61, giving me FREEDOM (a third Oprah pick).  I know when she meets Thomas, the blind, feeble slave boy with the gifts of a classical musician, she will fall in love with him.  

Aw yes, to dream the impossible dream.  But you never know.  With God, all things are possible!

A.M. Cal


