First let me make it clear that I enjoy some of Tyler Perry’s movies.  I thoroughly enjoyed “Why Did I Get Married” starring Jill Scott, Richard T. Jones and Tasha Smith, as well as “I Can Do Bad All By Myself” starring the magnificent Mary J. Blige.  I also found “Diary of a Mad Black Woman” mostly entertaining.  Now, with the latter out of the way, I’m not sure I’m excited about seeing Kim Kardashian in MARRIAGE COUNSELOR.

ART THAT ENRICHES MY LIFE (most likely art that doesn’t include Kim Kardashian)

I enjoy entertainment, especially movies that enrich my life, either through well-crafted comedy stories or dramas that enlighten me, cause me to reflect, and even inspire me to grow as a human being.  For that reason, I’m drawn to artistic endeavors such as the upcoming RED TAILS, based on the Tuskegee Airmen and THE HELP, based on the lives of domestic workers in the 1950s, as well as EIGHTH WONDER the novel, surrounding the real life story of Thomas Bethune, a blind, autistic slave who began playing Mozart at the age of three.

I’ll come clean and admit I used to watch Keeping Up with the Kardashians, Kourtney and Khloe take Miami, Kim and Kourtney take New York, thoroughly enjoying the mindless prattles of the K-clan.  Although I understand Mr. Perry’s decision from a business perspective – Kim has millions of fans – I just DO NOT want to see the whiny, untalented, but pretty Kim in a movie.  Barbara Walters said it best in an interview that ran before the end of 2011 – the Kardashians  don’t have any real talent.  They are privileged, stylish, pretty, and that’s it.  Quite frankly, I won’t be going to see the MARRIAGE COUNSELOR not because Kim is a sinner and such a bad person – although that 20 minute wedding did cause her to lose points in my book – but primarily because I cringe at the thought of watching her hatch through scripted lines.   Sorry Mr. Perry (rolling my eyes)  I’m sitting this one out.

A.M. Cal

